German/Czech heritage began in 1873 when plots of land (along with the 450 acre farm
of Louis Schulenburg) were purchased for right of ways known today as the Southern
Pacific Railroad. That same year, Christian Baumgarten, known as the "Father
of Schulenburg," suggested the town be named after Louis Schulenburg because the
railroad depot was on his land. On New Year's Eve of that same year, Schulenburg, a
German word meaning "School town," was born with the arrival of the first train
to the depot. Businesses from nearby High Hill and Lyons were moved overland on log
rollers with winches powered by mules. The first train came through Schulenburg
December 31, 1873. Schulenburg was a progressive horse-and-buggy town for 25 years.
The town grew to meet the needs of farmers by maintaining blacksmiths, saddle and
harness shops, cotton gins, a cotton compress, a cottonseed oil mill, hardware stores, and
eight saloons. Today, Schulenburg has grown to two square miles with 2,455
residents. We invite you to browse through historical downtown, sample our foods
and pastries, visit the Painted Churches and experience our relaxed way of life.